Sending and sharing files is an essential part of a modern business workflow, so, at Crugo, we’re always working to make file management faster, easier and more efficient. Our tools help teams to communicate, to schedule and to manage tasks – and integrating this with flexible file management adds a powerful new dimension to the toolset.
Crugo allows most common file types to be stored and shared. On your personal Crugo dashboard, you can review all the files that you have uploaded or that have been shared with you.
We have recently added the File Directory view and File Versioning, and both are now available across all platforms (including Mac and Windows plus web, mobile, iOS and Android), making it faster and easier to access your files and to organise your directories by name and date.
The File Directory view
When you create a new group, you can choose how you would like to display your files –either as a ‘List‘ or a ‘Directory‘. You can change this view in your existing groups at any time.
By choosing File Directory, you’re able to organise and structure your files into separate folders of your choice. As you can see in the top right-hand corner, you can create as many folders as you want.
Just drag and drop a file to upload it or click to upload at the bottom of the screen. If you’re not inside a folder when uploading a file, then the file won’t go to a specific folder; instead it will appear within the directory, below your folders. To move it, just click on the three dots on the right and select ‘move‘ followed by the folder that you want to add the file to.
The File Directory view allows you to sort files by name, type and size – just like you would on your hard drive. The List view is still available, but does not allow sorting.
You can delete files and folders at any time and even move folders into other folders. Think of this as your team’s personal network where you can share and organise your files together.
We have also recently introduced File Versioning. This means that when you upload a file you can save multiple versions of it within a single directory – meaning that all your edits can be saved as separate, accessible files, grouped together. You can hence always call up the latest version of the file; and you can access historic versions of the file if you need to. This ensures that no work is ever lost and you can see precisely how your files reached their latest iteration – and roll back changes if you need to.
When you upload a file with a filename that has been uploaded before, a prompt appears asking you if you would like to version it (as there appears to be another version of it in the system already). You can select ‘yes’ or ‘no’, and if you choose ‘no’ then you have the option to rename the file to something different so that it won’t be versioned.
In File Directory view, the latest version of the file is displayed, while in List view, both versions of the file will be visible based on the date that they were uploaded. In either view, you can select the file and then click to view other versions of the file.
If you want to remove an individual version of a file then it can be deleted without affecting the other versions in the directory.
These changes should make it faster and easier for your team to manage and share files using Crugo. Combined with Crugo’s full feature-set, File Versioning and the File Directory view should provide a significant productivity boost for your team, making files accessible, sharable and retrievable if things go wrong. Give it a try – and if you have any questions or comments, then please get in touch, as we’re always working to improve our product.